Reply

Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-04-2019

Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

[ Edited ]
by wre1991 Starter Poster
Message 1 of 13 (1,525 Views)

I've noticed our gen1 vodafone tv box has had an update load on it, other than the new apps anyone care to elebroate as to what else has changed?

Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎28-01-2013

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

by Contributor Gaffer Contributor
Message 2 of 13 (1,513 Views)

Interesting. Remind me how I check for this update please?.

 

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-04-2019

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

by wre1991 Starter Poster
Message 3 of 13 (1,509 Views)

You will notice new apps such as lightbox

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

by mrrosh Starter Poster
Message 4 of 13 (1,439 Views)
Does it mean with this update, it work on other isp networks?
Highlighted
Staff
Posts: 646
Registered: ‎21-04-2014

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

by Staff grantt Staff
Message 5 of 13 (1,434 Views)

Hi @mrrosh   Yes. The set top box you can now purchase in stores can be used on any ISP.  Please ensure you use it on a plan that has 'unlimited' data.

 

Cheers.

I work in Media Operations.

Please note that I am not a part of the social media team and help out on my own time where possible.
Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

by mrrosh Starter Poster
Message 6 of 13 (1,421 Views)
@grantt, what about the existing gen1 tv boxes. will it work on any isp, post firmware updates.
Highlighted
Frequent Poster
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎06-01-2019

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

by Frequent Poster chch_mike Frequent Poster
Message 7 of 13 (1,404 Views)

Don't quote me but I wouldn't think so, the 1st gen boxes are tied to a Vodafone broadband contract as far as I know. If you switched to another ISP you would need to give the boxes back I would think.

Highlighted
Staff
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎08-02-2019

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

by Staff HamishSansom Staff
Message 8 of 13 (1,393 Views)

Both Gen1 and Gen2 boxes will work on any ISP in NZ.  However you must pay for your Gen1 service as an add-on to a Vodafone broadband plan currently: effectively meaning that you wouldn't run Gen1 on another broadband provider (unless it's been gifted to you by a Vodafone broadband customer).  

 

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

[ Edited ]
by mrrosh Starter Poster
Message 9 of 13 (1,226 Views)

I'm trying to get the gen 1 working on a diff iSp, but doesn't seem to work.

 

Do i need to take it back into a home network that has vodafone internet  before it will get an updated firmware?

From what i see, here's the firmware level on the gen1 setup box

 

Vodafone tv

Brand Name: Sagecom

Model Name: Di384-uhd

Hardware Version: NZ-81/5

Software Version: 3.1.3414.02cvtp(nz)/3.1.3414.02341402

Software Last updated: Not Available

Last Software update Status:

UI Version: 31.3414.0.NZ

Enviornment https://430.dms-us.ott.kaltura.com/

Highlighted
Retired Staff
Posts: 21,155
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Vodafone TV Gen1 upgrade

[ Edited ]
by johnr Retired Staff
Message 10 of 13 (1,222 Views)

 

Edit: gen1 will work on another ISP sorry

 

Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17+ years and if you want real help from real people check out www.geekzone.co.nz
Stats
  • 12 Replies
  • 41w ago
  • 1,526 Views
  • 0 Kudos
  • 8 Contributors