Reply

Error sa002, sa005

Starter Poster
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by brandoo Starter Poster
Message 21 of 42 (473 Views)
Just called support about sa002 and apparently I needed a technician to come onsite to sort out as on FibreX.

Old school TV connection used to require tech but confused why this requires a tech to effectively plug in an entered cable?!

Suggested that the serial number needs to be associated with account but apparently not the case.
Posted from Mozilla Firefox for Android
Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 22 of 42 (457 Views)
@brandoo I’m confused too. If you would like me to look into this for you please PM me your details.
Posted from Apple iPhone
Starter Poster
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by brandoo Starter Poster
Message 23 of 42 (452 Views)

That'd be great. On multiple occasions have had the previous Vodafone TV through the cable service but my understanding of this offering is that it's all just via the Internet and all I should need to do is connect to network at home.

 

I questioned if technician was required multiple times to 2 different people and they insisted it's required..... was very confussed.

 

Will send account and serial via DM

Starter Poster
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎19-09-2018

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by John83 Starter Poster
Message 24 of 42 (439 Views)

For the latest update, I have had a Tech visit and he said there was nothing he could help me with, what had happened to bring up the error codes SA002 & SA005 was the fact that my Vodafone TV service point has been turned off, after yet another long phone call I was advised by the Ninja that it will take between 24 to 48 hours to turn back on (I don't know why my active Vodafone TV service point was turned off), also when the Technician was booked for Tuesday 30/10 he failed to turn up because he was given a number to ring that was not linked to my account?, I suspect something is amiss with the Ninja's in India, the whole saga is rapidly clocking on now for two weeks 

Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Error sa002, sa005

[ Edited ]
by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 25 of 42 (433 Views)

@John83 if you PM me details I will look into this for you

Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 26 of 42 (428 Views)

@brandoo can you please check now. Should be working

Starter Poster
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎19-09-2018

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by John83 Starter Poster
Message 27 of 42 (409 Views)

same error codes, It must be related to the service point being turned off for Vodafone TV, I will try again tomorrow

Starter Poster
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by brandoo Starter Poster
Message 28 of 42 (386 Views)
@JamRam thanks, works a treat now. Hopefully the tech visit has been caned too Smiley Wink
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 29 of 42 (379 Views)

@brandoo I hope so too!

New Poster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2019

Re: Error sa002, sa005

by wallybr0 New Poster
Message 30 of 42 (328 Views)
Can you please fix my one too
Posted from Apple iPhone
Stats
  • 41 Replies
  • 27w ago
  • 1,861 Views
  • 6 Kudos
  • 12 Contributors