Reply

Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 21 of 40 (514 Views)
Well it’s clear you know exactly what you are doing so I’ll wait for the results of your test.
Posted from Apple iPhone
Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-01-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster IanCox Regular Poster
Message 22 of 40 (498 Views)

I just thought I would report.....

 

2 Days in and no further problems since setting the DNS entries on the VF TV box itself Smiley Happy

Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 23 of 40 (496 Views)

@IanCox thank you for reporting back. Very much appreicated. I'll also update the VF team with this information

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-10-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper Regular Poster
Message 24 of 40 (489 Views)

Hi Mate, 

 

Do you mind, step by step how do you do this? 

 

Thanks!

 

Andrew

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-01-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster IanCox Regular Poster
Message 25 of 40 (485 Views)

Ok how you do it.....please bear in mind I have only been testing this for 2 days and I havn't had the 2-3 times a day disconnection errors. Infact no problems at all so far.

 

1)On the remote press menu

2)Go to the top of the page into SETTINGS

3)Scoll down to MORE SETTINGS and NETWORK

4)Go to MANUAL SETUP

5)IP ADDRESS (This is the address your VFTV Box will use on you network set it to somethings outside the DHCP address range in my case 192.168.1.31

6)SUBNET MASK most home networks with use 255.255.255.0 (if your not sure ask a geek)

7)DEFAULT GATEWAY (This is the IP Address of your router) often 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.255

8)PRIMARY DNS (Set to vodafone DNS Servers) 203.109.191.1

9)SECONDARY DNS (as above) 203.118.191.1

10) Hit OK then back out of the menu.

 

If it all goes wrong dont forget you can go back and set it to automatic.

 

Cheers

 

Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

[ Edited ]
by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 26 of 40 (476 Views)

Just to add to this a bit.

 

You can check what your STB IP address is by going to Settings > More Settings > Information > Internet > Current IP Address

 

One slight correction IanCox's step 7 above. The default gateway will typically be .1 or .255 .254

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-10-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper Regular Poster
Message 27 of 40 (473 Views)

Thank you, interestingly I did the steps exactly as Ian did and the Vodafone box still works fine. In fact its actually swithcing between Netflix and TV much much quickker where it used to hang. 

 

How can I check what the gateway is on my setup? Sorry for the newb questions.

 

A,

Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 28 of 40 (471 Views)

@AndrewCooper if you followed the steps and it is working then great. If you had put the wrong default gateway it simply wouldn't work. I assume you set the default gateway to 192.168.1.1?

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-10-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper Regular Poster
Message 29 of 40 (469 Views)

Yes I did set the default gateway to 192.168.1.1

 

Will see if its still working tonight! 

 

I wasnt sure how to determine what was outside of the DCHP range? I used .31 and that worked.

Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎30-09-2019

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

[ Edited ]
by Regular Contributor JamRam Regular Contributor
Message 30 of 40 (466 Views)

@AndrewCooper different routers behave differently. You have to log in to the router and check the DHCP pool range. Typically this is .1 or .2 up to .199. Addresses between .200 to .253 are for statics. Routers will generally assign DHCP addresses from the bottom of the pool first so if you assign .31 then you would have to have 29 or 30 devices connected before you will conflict with the .31 address you have assigned. Again, different routers behave differently. Some will prevent the conflict and some will allow it.

 

Make sense?

Stats
  • 39 Replies
  • 36w ago
  • 732 Views
  • 1 Kudo
  • 4 Contributors