Reply

Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-10-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper Regular Poster
Message 31 of 40 (367 Views)

Hi yes that makes sense and how I thought it would work, but mine are not assigned sequentially. I have some ending in:

 

.50

.140

.143

.167

.173

.187

.194

.216

 

So I was a bit confused. 

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-01-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster IanCox Regular Poster
Message 32 of 40 (347 Views)

Well 3 days on and not an issue in sight.

 

I think it must be a ping reply issue when the box is asking the router for the correct dns issue. Interestingly the router does also use the vodafone DNS servers on auto matic so not sure why there is a difference but setting it up on the STB has worked for me.

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-10-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper Regular Poster
Message 33 of 40 (335 Views)

I'm over a day in and still no disconnection errors on the Vodafone box. So that's good. Thank you!

 

 

I am having another issue where a wifi speaker fell off the network and it can't be found any more. I checked the router diagnostics and it says the router is offline, but I'm still connected to the net on my phone and tv etc???? What!

Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-01-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster IanCox Regular Poster
Message 34 of 40 (311 Views)

Well its been a while now and I have had no further disconnects from the server so I guess this has solved all of my issues. Hope it has helped a few others out.

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-10-2018

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper Regular Poster
Message 35 of 40 (306 Views)

Mine improved, but still died a couple of times over 3 days. 

 

I got Vodafone to send a new unit and it's been fine on the factory settings so far 

Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎17-06-2020

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper1 Regular Poster
Message 36 of 40 (115 Views)

Well, months later, still have issues. 

 

Trid 3 different routers, different hdmi / cat6 cables, different screen res, direct to TV and over splitters.

 

Anyone got an actual fix for this yet? Or did the settings work on the DNS etc? 

 

 

Highlighted
Staff
Posts: 646
Registered: ‎21-04-2014

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Staff grantt Staff
Message 37 of 40 (111 Views)

Hi @AndrewCooper1 

 

That error is not a result of HDMI issues.  It is due to internet connectivity.


Can you please PM me your account number and some more details such as how you have your STB connected to the router etc and we'll troubleshoot further.


Cheers,
Grant

 

I work in Media Operations.

Please note that I am not a part of the social media team and help out on my own time where possible.
Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎17-06-2020

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper1 Regular Poster
Message 38 of 40 (108 Views)

Hi Grant, 

 

My TV maintains Internet connectivity, while I have the error I can use Netflix and Youtube fine, just not "live" TV channels on Vodafone TV. 

 

My TV is connected to a Netgear switch through a Ubiquiti router over Cat6, no wifi involved.

 

The vodafone TV unit is connected to the router and or the switch (it works the same, tried both, still have the issue). 

 

Thoughts?  

Highlighted
Staff
Posts: 646
Registered: ‎21-04-2014

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Staff grantt Staff
Message 39 of 40 (100 Views)

Hi @AndrewCooper1 

 

Can you confirm the network settings in the STB are set to 'Automatic'?

Is your ISP Vodafone and if so, are you using Vodafone's DNS servers?

 

Could you try connecting ethernet direct from the STB to the Netgear router (bypassing the Ubiquiti router) and see if the issue still occurs?

 

Cheers,

Grant

 

I work in Media Operations.

Please note that I am not a part of the social media team and help out on my own time where possible.
Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎17-06-2020

Re: Cannot connect to server or connection lost.

by Regular Poster AndrewCooper1 Regular Poster
Message 40 of 40 (94 Views)
Yes the network is set to Auto, I have tried manual and auto with the same result

Yes I have fiber broadband with Vodafone. Im not using any remote DNS or anything.

Yes i have tried plugging direct to the netgear switch, ubiquiti router, standard Vodafone router, and an asus router. No luck
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Stats
  • 39 Replies
  • 36w ago
  • 732 Views
  • 1 Kudo
  • 4 Contributors