Can I use the Unifi Controller with a Vodafone router?

Starter Poster

Can I use the Unifi Controller with a Vodafone router?

by MartinC Starter Poster
Message 1 of 4 (483 Views)

Hi,

I have been watching an online tutorial where a guy sets up his home network using USG (Unifi Security Gateway) raspberry pi (on which he installs the Unifi Controller). Could I use a vodafone router and still control it using a Unifi Controller or do I have to use their hardware?

I am not planning on changing routers at this stage (no budget) so what would be a good substitute for this set up?

The substitute would need to be installed on a Raspberry Pi (where I can install Linux or whatever is needed). Although I am technical I have very little experience with networking and home networking.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards, Martin.

Staff

Re: Can I use the Unifi Controller with a Vodafone router?

by Staff hpatel Staff
Message 2 of 4 (476 Views)

Hi @MartinC,

The UniFi Controller software (or Cloud Key etc) is only used to configure other hardware in the UniFi ecosystem (e.g. the USG, access points, switches and so on). It can't do anything without other UniFi hardware, and it can't be used to control hardware from outside of that ecosystem (including our modems/routers and even Ubiquiti's non-UniFi hardware).

That's not to say that you can't use a mixture of UniFi and non-UniFi hardware; for example at home I use a UniFi switch, access point, and security camera configured with a controller, with the Vodafone Ultra Hub as my router. Maybe that's more in line with what you're trying to achieve?

Cheers,

Hayden

I work in the Corporate/Government space for Vodafone, but I know a little bit about a lot of things we do. I volunteer my time on here.
Starter Poster

Message 3 of 4 (468 Views)

Hi Hayden,

Thanks for the info in your message. Much appreciated.