Website & Games Not Loading 27/03/2020

Highlighted
New Poster

Website & Games Not Loading 27/03/2020

[ Edited ]
by kiwi144141 New Poster
Message 1 of 42 (827 Views)

I am based in Central Auckland and am on a residential Fibre 100 plan.

Today, games such as Modern Warfare will not load, I can start the game but it gets stuck failing to connect. You can see on the map here many others from NZ are reporting this too: https://downdetector.co.nz/status/call-of-duty/map/

Additionally, websites such as Twitter will not load, others are much, much slower than normal and it some cases fail to resolve.

If I open my phone and use my mobile network to try and load those websites instead, they load fine.

I am an IT admin by trade, so please don't tell me to just reboot my modem. I've already done that twice to no avail. I use a custom modem, not the default Vodafone supplied one.

This is an ISP issue, hence flagging it here.

EDIT: I have set up a VPN, and if I am using a Sydney based VPN I can access Twitter and other websites I was having issues with fine. 

The following websites do not work on my standard home IP address, but do work when using a VPN:

https://twitter.com/

https://www.nexcess.net/web-tools/dns-checker/

Please advise.

Highlighted
Starter Poster

Re: Website & Games Not Loading 27/03/2020

by RohaanMehra Starter Poster
Message 2 of 42 (769 Views)

Can vouch for this, Getting the same issue. I have also tried the necessary troubleshooting steps but to no avail and can definitely confirm this is an ISP issue.

Highlighted
Staff

by Staff wsfinest Staff
Message 3 of 42 (714 Views)

Are you able to provide a traceroute to the gaming server, if you could do 1 over the ufb and other via phone. If not ufb please

Highlighted
Starter Poster

by RohaanMehra Starter Poster
Message 4 of 42 (584 Views)