Reply

Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎26-01-2020

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by BlackTani Starter Poster
Message 71 of 85 (468 Views)

Thanks Finest. customer satisfaction is 95% about communication.

 

 

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-10-2017

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by bungle954 Starter Poster
Message 72 of 85 (385 Views)

Thank you for the info.

 

Any reason our traffic is being routed through Hong Kong? Other ISPs route through the southern cross cable, which results in lower latencies to US servers.

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎25-01-2020

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by Regular Poster Fanatic Regular Poster
Message 73 of 85 (384 Views)
I was at 214 ms yesterday which is fairly typical. What ping do you all get to NA?
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Highlighted
Retired Staff
Posts: 21,157
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by johnr Retired Staff
Message 74 of 85 (376 Views)

@bungle954  Cause you are paying for consumer grade internet, ISP's do not always route the most direct way as the internet does not work like this

Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17+ years and if you want real help from real people check out www.geekzone.co.nz
Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-10-2017

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by bungle954 Starter Poster
Message 75 of 85 (352 Views)

Getting 230ms, though quite often going up to 300ms.  Currently at 290ms.

 

@johnr  I was curious as to why it was necessary, and if it was something that could be adjusted. It's consumer grade internet, but playing internet tanks is a consumer grade activity. If that's the way it is, then sweet, I'll look into other options.  Perhaps options that don't frequently lose their ability to connect to a pretty popular game service.  I know my disatisfaction isn't some kind of threat, I just like to make informed choices as a consumer.

Highlighted
Retired Staff
Posts: 21,157
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by johnr Retired Staff
Message 76 of 85 (348 Views)

@bungle954  It's about cost and no ISP in the world has fixed routing around the globe it can change at the drop of a hat

 

VodafoneNZ and SparkNZ also has it's own Cable now so will use the Southern X cable less

 

https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/105624605/445m-nz-internet-cable-opens-for-traffic

Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17+ years and if you want real help from real people check out www.geekzone.co.nz
Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎27-07-2019

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by Regular Poster LiamSullivan Regular Poster
Message 77 of 85 (316 Views)

sorry I'm late to this my current point 1. the new cable was done in 2018 so should use the old cable-less 2. the site is still broken 3. thanks for all the help but I wonder why it keeps happening

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-10-2017

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by bungle954 Starter Poster
Message 78 of 85 (336 Views)
@johnr Cheers
Posted from OnePlus A5010
Highlighted
New Poster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-02-2020

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

by RogJeffery New Poster
Message 79 of 85 (312 Views)

yeah i was playing on a USA based game and the connection to it went to **bleep** at about 4pm saturday and its still **bleep** now. Yet anything like facebook, netflix and that is ok.   Seems to be just the oversea's connections playing up

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎25-01-2020

Re: Wargaming sites unavailable DNS error

[ Edited ]
by AllanRowland Starter Poster
Message 80 of 85 (299 Views)

I have also had an interesting issue since about that time.

 

With the first problem I couldn't access anything. This time I can play the game fine but can't activate any links to other sites from within the game.

 

I also can't access the website forums. This problem is on the PC but I can get to the forum via my my mobile. However some player avatars are not coming through.

 

Turning off the AV protection makes no difference.

 

I suspect it is a problem with my computer but with all the weird stuff that Vodafone have been up to lately I am wondering what part they have in it.

 

I also had a cintinual series of lost connections all day Friday.

 

Stats
  • 84 Replies
  • 27w ago
  • 1,053 Views
  • 25 Kudos
  • 11 Contributors