Rural Broadband B315 Modem, Phone line not working after firmware upgrade

Highlighted
Starter Poster

Rural Broadband B315 Modem, Phone line not working after firmware upgrade

by MrMikeyNZ Starter Poster
Message 1 of 4 (1,229 Views)

Hi There, 

I recently web brcowsed to my B315 modem and it prompted me to update the firmware which I did. All went well except the phone-line is now giving me a constant disconnect tone and it comes up engaged when you try and ring the number. 

I called the rural broadband support number and after a very frustrating 60mins, I was told that my router was probably faulty and needs replacing. Seems a bit of a cop out to me. I'm no expert but I'd have thought that maybe the phone number just needs re-allocating to my modem or something? Can anyone shed some light on this? Anyone else had the same issue?

Current Versions installed in my B315 modem

Hardware version:WL1B310FM04
Software version:21.329.01.00.1085
Web UI version:17.100.09.00.03

'

Highlighted
Business Ninja Adept

Re: Rural Broadband B315 Modem, Phone line not working after firmware upgrade

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 2 of 4 (1,205 Views)

Hi @MrMikeyNZ Phone number does not need to be re-allocated to your modem, it is not allocated to your modem it is allocated to the SIM card inside your modem.. This is regular mobile GSM/UMTS Voice not SIP / VOIP.

Have you tried giving your modem a factory reset?

Best Regards,

Sebastian

NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Highlighted
Starter Poster

by MrMikeyNZ Starter Poster
Message 3 of 4 (1,201 Views)

Hi Sebastian, thanks for the reply.

No I haven't tried a factory reset. Is that easy enough to do? Are there any settings I'd need to re-configure after the reset or will it just start working again straight away? I can set the Wi-Fi up again easy enough.