Reply

Fibre issues

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2019
Accepted Solution

Fibre issues

by DarrellMarieNichol Starter Poster
Message 1 of 19 (225 Views)

I have only had fibre for a couple of weeks, and have had it disconnect twice.

I have to unplug it, wait, then plug it back it back in and it takes about 15 minutes to reconnect.

why does it do this? I have 2 connections, and the one ending in 5 always drops off.

It’s very frustrating and the Vodafone website doesn’t help, and waiting for half an hour early in the morning seems ridiculous.

Posted from Apple iPad
Retired Staff
Posts: 20,728
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Fibre issues

by johnr Retired Staff
Message 2 of 19 (222 Views)
Is it the ONT losing connection or the router or the Wi-Fi dropping?
Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17+ years and if you want real help from real people check out www.geekzone.co.nz
Posted from Samsung SM-G965F
Retired Staff
Posts: 20,728
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Fibre issues

by johnr Retired Staff
Message 3 of 19 (221 Views)
From reading your post again the Fibre is not dropping but the 5Ghz Wi-Fi

Have you checked to make sure something is not putting interference into that band?

Wi-Fi is public shared spectrum and not related to VodafoneNZ in anyway
Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17+ years and if you want real help from real people check out www.geekzone.co.nz
Posted from Samsung SM-G965F
Starter Poster
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2019

Re: Fibre issues

by DarrellMarieNichol Starter Poster
Message 4 of 19 (219 Views)

Hi John, on the box the internet light goes red. I have to switch off the power and restart it to get it green

how do I find out if something is interring with the connection?

Posted from Apple iPad
Retired Staff
Posts: 20,728
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Fibre issues

by johnr Retired Staff
Message 5 of 19 (211 Views)
What box the router or ONT?
Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17+ years and if you want real help from real people check out www.geekzone.co.nz
Posted from Samsung SM-G965F
Starter Poster
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2019

Re: Fibre issues

by DarrellMarieNichol Starter Poster
Message 6 of 19 (209 Views)

Router

Posted from Apple iPad
Retired Staff
Posts: 20,728
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Fibre issues

by johnr Retired Staff
Message 7 of 19 (206 Views)
Have you got another router you can test with?
Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17+ years and if you want real help from real people check out www.geekzone.co.nz
Posted from Samsung SM-G965F
Staff
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎24-11-2011

Re: Fibre issues

by Staff wsfinest Staff
Message 8 of 19 (205 Views)
When this next happens are u able to try connecting with a ethernet cable and see if it works. Without turning anything off. Is the modem the 1 vf supplied ?
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Starter Poster
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-07-2019

Re: Fibre issues

by DarrellMarieNichol Starter Poster
Message 9 of 19 (200 Views)

My internet has 2 names, one has a 5 at the end. When it disconnects and I restart it, I can get on to the one without a 5 but not the other.

I do have another router I could use, if I can remember the password....

The current one is vodafone supplied

Staff
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎24-11-2011

Re: Fibre issues

by Staff wsfinest Staff
Message 10 of 19 (197 Views)
U have 1 internet connection that connects to the modem. That modem has 2 different wifi channels . Do you always connect to the wifi channel that ends in 5. If so try connecting to the other 1 and see how things work.
Posted from Generic Android 2.0
Stats
  • 18 Replies
  • 6w ago
  • 226 Views
  • 0 Kudos
  • 3 Contributors