Reply

Annoying Vodafone spam messages

SR1
Starter Poster
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-04-2017
Accepted Solution

Annoying Vodafone spam messages

by SR1 Starter Poster
Message 1 of 2 (130 Views)
Why do I keep being sent messages every half hour telling me to top up to sent a text when I'm on a prepaid plan with unlimited texts
Posted from Apple iPhone

Accepted Solutions
Vodafone Ninja
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎21-07-2015

Re: Annoying Vodafone spam messages

by Vodafone Ninja Vodafone Ninja Vodafone Ninja
Message 2 of 2 (201 Views)


Hi @SR1

 

With iPhones, in order to use either iMessage or Facetime, your phone will send 2 silent TXT messages in the background to the UK to +447786205094. This is done in order to activate both Facetime and iMessage applications with the Apple server which is based in the UK.

 

If either service gets switched off, or disconnected from the server, or if you take the SIM card out of your phone for example, your iPhone would automatically send this TXT to activate it. Each text costs $0.31 to activate.

 

This would usually happen only once when you first start using both applications, yet if you're turning either app off for example, have no data connection for extended periods of time, then your mobile will send those international txts again to reactivate it.

 

Please do the following to prevent these text message

 

To disable iMessage:
Go to Settings> Messages> Tap the iMessage switch to the Off position.

To disable Facetime:
Go to Settings> FaceTime> Tap the Facetime switch to the Off position

 

 

^HamishA

 

 

View solution in original post

Solution
Accepted by arifkhan (Vodafone Ninja)
‎11-04-2017 04:14 PM

All Replies
Vodafone Ninja
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎21-07-2015

Re: Annoying Vodafone spam messages

by Vodafone Ninja Vodafone Ninja Vodafone Ninja
Message 2 of 2 (202 Views)


Hi @SR1

 

With iPhones, in order to use either iMessage or Facetime, your phone will send 2 silent TXT messages in the background to the UK to +447786205094. This is done in order to activate both Facetime and iMessage applications with the Apple server which is based in the UK.

 

If either service gets switched off, or disconnected from the server, or if you take the SIM card out of your phone for example, your iPhone would automatically send this TXT to activate it. Each text costs $0.31 to activate.

 

This would usually happen only once when you first start using both applications, yet if you're turning either app off for example, have no data connection for extended periods of time, then your mobile will send those international txts again to reactivate it.

 

Please do the following to prevent these text message

 

To disable iMessage:
Go to Settings> Messages> Tap the iMessage switch to the Off position.

To disable Facetime:
Go to Settings> FaceTime> Tap the Facetime switch to the Off position

 

 

^HamishA

 

 

Solution
Accepted by arifkhan (Vodafone Ninja)
‎11-04-2017 04:14 PM
Stats
  • 1 Reply
  • 3w ago
  • 131 Views
  • 1 Kudo
  • 2 Contributors
Kudos 101- Don't be shy, hand it out today