Reply

Power outage and Fibre

New Poster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎13-04-2018
Accepted Solution

Power outage and Fibre

by PaulM45 New Poster
Message 1 of 6 (182 Views)

I have a Vodafone fibre connection: the optical network terminal and the router are connected to the mains power: in the event of a power outage, is there any point in connecting them to a UPS, or is the fibre network going to be without power so nothing will work anyway? - I recall with copper lines, all you needed was for the exchange to have power, not the lines in the street, but is this the case for fiber as well?

Highlighted
Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,697
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: Power outage and Fibre

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 2 of 6 (136 Views)

@PaulM45wrote:

I have a Vodafone fibre connection: the optical network terminal and the router are connected to the mains power: in the event of a power outage, is there any point in connecting them to a UPS, or is the fibre network going to be without power so nothing will work anyway? - I recall with copper lines, all you needed was for the exchange to have power, not the lines in the street, but is this the case for fiber as well?


If the Chorus Exchange / Cabinet (and it's backhaul) your home's fibre connection is connected back to; is UP (either on Mains or batteries) the fibre connection would still work if you have your gear running on UPS.


Cheers

Sebastian

NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Expert Contributor
Posts: 608
Registered: ‎21-05-2015

Re: Power outage and Fibre

by Expert Contributor Expert Contributor
Message 3 of 6 (132 Views)

Anyone know how long a ONT and router would run on a low end UPS?

Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,697
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: Power outage and Fibre

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 4 of 6 (129 Views)

@Christopherwrote:

Anyone know how long a ONT and router would run on a low end UPS?


No idea you would have to work out what the load drawn by ONT + Router is, and then calculate by dividing UPS Battery Capacity with load drawn.

NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Expert Contributor
Posts: 608
Registered: ‎21-05-2015

Re: Power outage and Fibre

by Expert Contributor Expert Contributor
Message 5 of 6 (48 Views)

Do Vodafone Supply a UPS at the time of a fibre install if the customer requests it?

Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,697
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: Power outage and Fibre

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 6 of 6 (44 Views)
No you would be on your own to buy one from some third party. Maybe PB Tech, Noel Leeming etc.

Cheers
Sebastian
NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Posted from Apple iPhone
Stats
  • 5 Replies
  • 1w ago
  • 183 Views
  • 0 Kudos
  • 3 Contributors