Reply

4G Sure Signal?

Highlighted
Regular Poster
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Accepted Solution

4G Sure Signal?

[ Edited ]
by Regular Poster alanw Regular Poster
Message 1 of 30 (862 Views)

Are there any plans to upgrade femtocell/Sure Signal to 4G?   Currently I have to choose between a weak 4G signal or our 3G Sure Signal.

Senior Contributor
Posts: 447
Registered: ‎24-08-2008

Re: 4G Sure Signal.

by Senior Contributor coffeebaron Senior Contributor
Message 2 of 30 (851 Views)
As soon as you make a call it will go to 3G
Posted from Samsung SM-G950F
Regular Poster
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2010

Re: 4G Sure Signal.

by Regular Poster alanw Regular Poster
Message 3 of 30 (796 Views)

I'm not clear what you are saying.  The phone elects to prefer a weak 4G signal rather than the strong 3G one from the Sure Signal.  It will use this for both data and voice as far as I can see unless the phone settings are changed to ignore 4G.  

 

Just to be sure I made a call while allowing auto select 4g/3g/2g and the call did not go through the Sure Signal.

Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,817
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: 4G Sure Signal.

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 4 of 30 (793 Views)

There is no VoLTE on the VodafoneNZ network, so a call will never happen on 4G. The handset will 100% always fall back to 3G for any Voice Call. Now if that's on Macro or Femto is another question.

 

Not sure what benefit having a 4G sure signal would offer you (as Voice does not go via 4G).

 

And if there is a Sure Signal, there must be a fixed line connection, so I don't see why you wouldn't just use the wifi connection from the fixed line connection (instead of using LTE mobile data..)

NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Regular Poster
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2010

Re: 4G Sure Signal?

by Regular Poster alanw Regular Poster
Message 5 of 30 (778 Views)
The problem is the phone locking onto the weak 4G tower rather than the strong Sure Signal connection for voice calls and consequential loss of quality and reliability unless 4g is turned off on the phone while at home. That means changing settings whenever you go out and come in if you want 4g service elsewhere.
Posted from Samsung SM-G950F
Community Manager
Posts: 2,945
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: 4G Sure Signal?

by Community Manager Community Manager
Message 6 of 30 (772 Views)

@alanw

Your phone will always use 3G for calls, so use the Sure Signal, would only use 4G for data - apps, email etc. No need to change any settings.

Channel Manager, Help & Support
Vodafone New Zealand
Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,817
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: 4G Sure Signal?

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 7 of 30 (760 Views)
@alanw I think you’ll be out of luck unless you do end up adjusting your handset settings. I am aware of no plans for a 4G Sure Signal. (It doesn’t make sense to have 4G Sure Signal anyway).

For checkings sake, id like to trace and see what happened when you made a call.

Can you please Private Message me your mobile number, the number you made a call to, and the date and time of the call.

Cheers,
Sebastian
NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Posted from Apple iPhone
Regular Poster
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2010

Re: 4G Sure Signal?

by Regular Poster alanw Regular Poster
Message 8 of 30 (746 Views)
PM sent.
Posted from Samsung SM-G950F
Regular Poster
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-06-2010

Re: 4G Sure Signal?

by Regular Poster alanw Regular Poster
Message 9 of 30 (744 Views)
@MikeHales the point is that it uses 3g to a -104dB cell tower instead of to a -60dB SureSignal.
Posted from Samsung SM-G950F
Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,817
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: 4G Sure Signal?

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 10 of 30 (723 Views)

I've traced this and found some interesting behaviour. When you made the outgoing call, the CSFallback was to 2G, NOT 3G, on the Russell/Paihia cell site.


Checking further, I found you have not made or recieved a single call at all on a Sure Signal since 01/01...

 

Has the Sure Signal ever worked for you? Have you ever made a call via it?

 

What handset do you have (Model Number) and was it purchased from Vodafone NZ?

 

I'm wondering if your handset may not support U2100..?

NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Stats
  • 29 Replies
  • 30w ago
  • 863 Views
  • 0 Kudos
  • 4 Contributors