Reply

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

Regular Contributor
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎20-04-2009

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

by Regular Contributor bigal Regular Contributor
Message 1 of 9 (14,341 Views)
a mate of mine updted there firmware for there hg556a but it didnt update right so is there any way to
recover from bad firmware update ?

i remember how to do it with a dlink modem but not the hg556a
Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎20-04-2009

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

[ Edited ]
by Regular Contributor bigal Regular Contributor
Message 2 of 9 (14,341 Views)

How to recover router with corrupt firmware 

If your modem/router is not responding after unsuccessful firmware upgrade, please try the below steps. 
Download the latest Firmware for your modem/router.

From http://testvf.co.nz/files/hg556a/

Step 1

  • Try resetting the router to factory defaults by pressing the Reset button at the back of the router for 10 seconds. The router' power should be on when you are pressing the button.

 

Step 2

  • Set your computer with static IP address. To do that go to Start > [Settings] > Control Panel > [Network and Internet Connection] > Network Connections > Local Area Connection > Properties. Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) and click on the Properties button. Specify the following settings:
  • IP address: 192.168.1.3
  • Subnet Mask: 255.0.0.0
  • Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
  • Preferred DNS: 192.168.1.1
  • Alternate DNS: 4.2.2.2
  • DNS server addresses can be replaced with your ISP's DNS addresses.

 

Step 3

  • Temporarily disable firewall and antivirus protection on your computer. To disable Windows built-in firewall go to Start > Control Panel > [Network and Internet Connection] > Network Connections > Local Area Connection > Properties > Advanced > Settings. Set Firewall to OFF.
  • If you have some other firewall and antivirus software installed, please refer to the software manuals on how to disable it.
  • Step 4. 
  • Make sure that the router is on. Connect one end of the cable to your router and another end to your hub/switch. Your computer should also be connected to the hub/switch. If you do not have a hub/switch, connect the other end of the cable directly to your computer's network adapter.


Step 5

  • Click on Start > Run and type 'cmd'. Click OK. In the black DOS prompt type the following commands finishing each one with Enter:

arp 192.168.1.1 -d
arp 192.168.1.1 -d
arp 192.168.1.1 -d
ping 192.168.1.1 -t

 

  • You may see messages like 'Entry was not found', it is normal. You should see repeated message 'Request timed out'. If you are seeing 'Reply from
  • 192.168.1.1, your router is already responding.
  • Your DOS window should now be displaying continuous messages 'Reply from 192.168.1.1

 

Step 6

  • Repeat Step 5. Then try to log into your router via you will be prompted upload the firmware this will take 2 - 5 min
  • And then the router will reboot
  • (Do not turn power off or unplug the Ethernet cable)
  • After the router restarts go to http://192.168.1.1
  • Under Management then Settings then click on restore factory defaults
  • Wait for it to reboot
  • Then log back on
  • You can now configure your router for your Internet connection
Honoured Contributor
Posts: 2,603
Registered: ‎13-09-2008

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

by Honoured Contributor Honoured Contributor
Message 3 of 9 (14,341 Views)
Ahh, excellent info :) Thanks for that! Might come in handy one day.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎20-04-2009

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

by Regular Contributor bigal Regular Contributor
Message 4 of 9 (14,341 Views)
sure is
thought I'll share it with everyone
so they dont have to go out and buy a new router
Retired Staff
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎30-10-2009

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

by Retired Staff Nigelhu Retired Staff
Message 5 of 9 (14,341 Views)
FYI Guys

The version 37 firmware has been released.

http://forum.vodafone.co.nz/forum-19/announcement-8-23-aug-2012-new-hg556a-firmware-available/
Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎13-10-2011

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

by Contributor nzlpablo Contributor
Message 6 of 9 (14,341 Views)
Nigel Hutchings, on 23 August 2012 - 08:50 PM, said:

FYI Guys

The version 37 firmware has been released.




Are there any release notes for that?
Honoured Contributor
Posts: 2,603
Registered: ‎13-09-2008

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

by Honoured Contributor Honoured Contributor
Message 7 of 9 (14,341 Views)
nzlpablo, on 24 August 2012 - 10:10 AM, said:

Nigel Hutchings, on 23 August 2012 - 08:50 PM, said:

FYI Guys

The version 37 firmware has been released.




Are there any release notes for that?


Think it fixes some DNS issues - there is a thread about it on GZ with positive feedback
Retired Staff
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎30-10-2009

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

by Retired Staff Nigelhu Retired Staff
Message 8 of 9 (14,341 Views)
Hi,

Version 37 includes fixes for two issues.

1) DNS dropouts

2) Wireless dropouts

Cheers,

Nigel
Ninja Master
Posts: 20,516
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

recover from bad (hg556a) Firmware update (FIXED)

by Ninja Master Ninja Master Ninja Master
Message 9 of 9 (14,341 Views)
I upgraded my friends HG55A to the latest update and they noticed a improvement straight away

John
Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17 years 4 days
Stats
  • 8 Replies
  • 4y ago
  • 14,342 Views
  • 1 Kudo
  • 5 Contributors
Kudos 101- Don't be shy, hand it out today