Reply

Requesting SIP Settings

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-09-2016
Accepted Solution

Requesting SIP Settings

by JacobVaughan Starter Poster
Message 1 of 12 (1,915 Views)

Just wondering if you guys give out SIP passwords for UFB / home phone?

 

Wanting to use third party router/voip device without having to use the huawai box..THanks.


Accepted Solutions
Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,585
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 2 of 12 (3,698 Views)
No we don't sorry. VF SIP is only via the VF provided modem.

Cheers
NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ

View solution in original post

Posted from Apple iPhone
Solution
Accepted by topic author JacobVaughan
‎20-02-2017 11:42 AM

All Replies
Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,585
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 2 of 12 (3,699 Views)
No we don't sorry. VF SIP is only via the VF provided modem.

Cheers
NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Posted from Apple iPhone
Solution
Accepted by topic author JacobVaughan
‎20-02-2017 11:42 AM
Starter Poster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-09-2016

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by JacobVaughan Starter Poster
Message 3 of 12 (1,906 Views)

Whats the reasoning behind this?

 

It's very easy to decrypt the voip password stored on the huawai router, so anyone with negative intent could still obtain it very easily.

Senior Contributor
Posts: 396
Registered: ‎03-12-2008

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by Senior Contributor gregmcc Senior Contributor
Message 4 of 12 (1,902 Views)

At the end of the day you are paying VF for the connection, I would put it plain and simple to them, provide the requested information or drop their VOIP service, 2 Talk to a good priced feature laden VOIP service, move it to them.

Staff
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎19-07-2010

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by Staff Manoj Staff
Message 5 of 12 (1,583 Views)

We've had users misplacing their SIP details resulting in some third party abusing their line to make international calls resulting in thousands of dollars worth of bills. We do not want to deal with such situations that are not optimal for our customers or for our company.

I am from the fixed line faults team and I volunteer my time here. Not an official member of the Social Media Team.
New Poster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-08-2017

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by VincentSok New Poster
Message 6 of 12 (796 Views)

If this is the case can Vodafone remote onto my pc, access my modem page and configure the VoiP Settings? Don't see why I have to suffer with a set modem/router. Doesn't seem very fair. Alternatively can I go back to a PSTN line with Fiber? I don't think I had that option.

Staff
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎19-07-2010

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by Staff Manoj Staff
Message 7 of 12 (779 Views)

Our staff are not trained to support a variety of modems nor to do anything more than basic modem and WiFi configuration. Some of the VOIP users have addressed this issue by setting up the HG659 in bridge mode and then having their own router piggy-backing on the HG659.

 

http://community.vodafone.co.nz/t5/Modems-Wi-Fi/Huawei-HG659-Bridge-Mode/td-p/169232 

I am from the fixed line faults team and I volunteer my time here. Not an official member of the Social Media Team.
Starter Poster
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎17-08-2017

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by madwithvodafone Starter Poster
Message 8 of 12 (743 Views)

How to use X-Lite softphone with VF SIP

 

Hi All, after much banging my head against the wall battling with Vodafone policies, I have decided to share how to set up a X-Lite softphone with VF SIP.

I am doing this as Vodafone really shouldn't restrict what you can and can't do. I respect their decision from the POV that if a customer gives out the password, then it leaves it open to "call fraud".

Warning. If you do this incorrectly and something does not work after, you will need to factory reset the HG659. This loses all customisations etc but will bring the router back to defaults.

My current setup is with the default VF Huawei HG659 router. My internet is fibre and the HG659 is the ATA.

Open Internet Explorer (Edge, Mozilla and Opera do not unmask the password, did not try Chrome)(if you do not know how to access the router, this is another topic).

Log into your router with username "admin" and the password of "VF-NZhg659". Feel free to change the admin password which stops VF from accessing it (Not a good idea unless you know what you are doing).

Click on the "Telephony" tab.

In the VoIP menu there are VoIP providers and VoIP numbers. These show the current settings.

The provider setting needed is the SIP Domain (Vodafone.co.nz).

The VoIP Numbers have the username needed and shows the masked password.

To get the password google search for "passware asterisk"  and you should get the below at the top of the list.

 

Download, install and open "Asterisk Key" and make sure the router page with the masked password is still open. Click the "Recover button in Asterisk Key.

You should see the unmasked password.(Put this in you password repository-Keypass is ok)

I have used X-Lite for my softphone as its free and it works. I have not tested other softphones but they should work.

The screen shot below of the X-Lite account settings is all you need. The "User ID is your "SIP Number" from the HG659 voip numbers page (area code, no xero then your number)

(eg: for "Auckland" and the number of "1234567" its "91234567")

No need to use the domain proxy settings.

 

 

The "Dial Plan" settings I have used are from the HG659 dial plan settings, but the default X-lite should work.

Happy SIPping folks.

 

Cheers

Staff
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎19-07-2010

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by Staff Manoj Staff
Message 9 of 12 (354 Views)

Please elaborate on the call fraud aspect of it because most people don't understand about it until they get pinged with a few thousand dollar bill. We deal with these periodically in the consumer space and regularly in the business space and bills are almost never adjusted because once you start managing your own VOIP service, the security also becomes your responsibility.

I am from the fixed line faults team and I volunteer my time here. Not an official member of the Social Media Team.
Senior Contributor
Posts: 396
Registered: ‎03-12-2008

Re: Requesting SIP Settings

by Senior Contributor gregmcc Senior Contributor
Message 10 of 12 (339 Views)

I think that if the supplied modem wasn't so riddled with problems it would no be an issue.

 

As far as fraud issues, yes it's possible if they choose to use their own router, and again it's also possible using the VF supplied router.

 

As a VF customer who chose several years ago to split my phone service from broadband and supply and manage my own modem/router and use a 3rd party VOIP provider I can say that it was the best thing I ever done. Way more features at a way cheaper price and I have not had any issues with VOIP fraud.

Stats
  • 11 Replies
  • 43w ago
  • 1,916 Views
  • 0 Kudos
  • 7 Contributors