Reply

Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

Staff
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 11 of 66 (4,387 Views)
Haven't got one handy but I remember if you put it in IP routing mode it'll allow you to use another router for your DHCP & WiFi. Not the same thing as bridging, but it may achieve what you need.
Posted from Mozilla Firefox for Android
Starter Poster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

by jerry_nz Starter Poster
Message 12 of 66 (4,368 Views)

cool thanks - i will have a play with some settings next time the family isn't using the internet (harhar)

 

and just wanting to confirm something with my RT-AC68U:

When available, I've read that if we were to upgrade to fibre we could use the RT-AC68U directly with some setup... can we do this with VDSL?  Or forced to use a modem still?

 

Thanks and will follow up Smiley Very Happy

 

Jeremy

 

Staff
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 13 of 66 (4,355 Views)

No idea on using the RT-AC68U, but if it's a decent, configurable modem I don't see why not. More specifically, you'll need to be able to set a VLAN for UFB to work.

Highlighted
Staff
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

[ Edited ]
by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 14 of 66 (13,678 Views)

Hi,

Here's the guts of setting up bridge mode, will try to get this written up a bit nicer (@MikeHales?). This method will give you full bridge mode as well as a reserved IP to access from another LAN port. Supports VDSL, Fibre and FibreX, does not support ADSL.

 

  1. Disconnect the WAN connection (VDSL or ethernet to ONT / cable modem)
  2. Connect your PC via cable directly to the HG659.
  3. Log on as Admin (not vodafone).
  4. Internet -> Internet Settings: Delete all of the profiles except the connection you want (eg internet_ethernet)
  5. Internet -> Internet Settings: Edit that profile, change connection type to Bridged, change Service type to Internet only (untick TR069 & Voice). It will show disconnected, don't worry about that.
  6. Internet -> Network security -> Firewall: disable the firewall
  7. Home Network -> WLAN settings -> WLAN Encryption: Untick the 2.4 & 5GHz WLAN SSID on the WLAN encryption section. Doing it here rather than under the Basic Settings means that the physical button on the unit won't reenable wifi.
  8. Home Network -> LAN Interface: Turn off UPNP, IPv6 DHCP Server and DHCP Server (IPv4)
  9. You should still be connected. If not, you'll need to set your PC to a static IP in the 192.168.1.0/24 range, eg 192.168.1.123
  10. Home Network -> LAN Interface -> LAN Interface Settings: Set a LAN IP, say to 192.168.200.200 that won't conflict with anything.
  11. Now if you ever want to reconnect to the router, you'll need to set a static IP on your computer to something like 192.168.200.100/24, and connect physically into the router, and browse to 192.168.200.200.

Yell out if you have any problems or if something is unclear.

/chris

Solution
Accepted by AhmedA (Vodafone Ninja)
‎02-09-2016 03:59 PM
Starter Poster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

by jerry_nz Starter Poster
Message 15 of 66 (4,328 Views)

boom!  that was it - thank you very much!

 

I no longer have double-nat and am in full control.

 

thanks again - happy customer!

New Poster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

[ Edited ]
by BrendonLawton New Poster
Message 16 of 66 (4,017 Views)

Hello Smiley Happy

 

Whats the admin user and password for S/N [REMOVED] please ?

 

Thanks 

Vodafone Ninja
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎21-07-2015

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

by Vodafone Ninja Vodafone Ninja Vodafone Ninja
Message 17 of 66 (4,004 Views)

Hey @BrendonLawton

 

To login to the modem can you please try using the following details:

  • Default username Admin
  • Default password, either:
    VF-NZhg659 (note - case sensitive)
    or
    @ and then the last eight digits of your modem's serial number. (E.g. @12345678)

 

Thanks

Hamish

Starter Poster
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-10-2016

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

by Gerry_NZ Starter Poster
Message 18 of 66 (3,784 Views)
Hi Chris
I was able to do these steps but I couldn't see how I can connect the bridged hg659 to the main hg659 without an ethernet cable.
Thanks
Gerry
Posted from Samsung SM-G900F
Staff
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 19 of 66 (3,775 Views)

Hi Gerry,

These steps are for someone that wants to use the Vodafone supplied HG659 to connect to the network (VDSL/UFB/whatever), but retain their existing device for routing and wifi (eg because it has more features or not wanting to disrupt their existing setup). In this scenario, the two devices are connected via ethernet cable.

Not sure what you're trying to achieve using two HG659s, maybe there's a better approach?

cheers,

chris

Starter Poster
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-10-2016

Re: Huawei HG659 Bridge Mode

by Gerry_NZ Starter Poster
Message 20 of 66 (3,760 Views)
Thanks Chris

Maybe I'm in the wrong thread.

I actually have two HG659. One is connected to the UFB. The other one is not being used and I want to use it as an extender. I want them to be connected wireless. 1, I don't have a long cable. 2, I don't want to drill a hole.

Regards
Gerry
Posted from Samsung SM-G900F
Stats
  • 65 Replies
  • 2y ago
  • 18,340 Views
  • 9 Kudos
  • 15 Contributors
Kudos 101- Don't be shy, hand it out today