Reply

Roaming in South Korea

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-07-2014
Accepted Solution

Roaming in South Korea

by KyleTong Starter Poster
Message 1 of 11 (2,454 Views)

Hi guys,

 

I'm currenting in South Korea and having issues with connecting to the network and activating my roaming. From the information on your website, I should be able to connect. I can see the mobile networks when scanning but it says that my SIM is unable to register on any networks. I have a Galaxy S4 so I have a 3G handset and using Supa Prepay which has rates on the page for countries that allow roaming, so I'm not sure what the problem is. The other option is to get a CDMA enabled handset as a rental but since my phone is 3G it seems like it should be working.

 

Do you guys have any ideas as to what I can do about this?

 

Thanks,

Kyle


Accepted Solutions
Ninja Initiate
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎18-06-2014

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by Ninja Initiate Ninja Initiate Ninja Initiate
Message 4 of 11 (3,368 Views)
Hi Kyle,

You're welcome Smiley Happy

Looking into it as we speak. will contact you shortly.

cheers.
(please refrain from posting personal information on public forums)


I volunteer my time here on the community helping out, Not an official member of the social media team.

I currently work with the mobile, cable tv and fibre teams

View solution in original post

Solution
Accepted by Lon (Staff)
‎03-10-2015 04:33 AM

All Replies
Ninja Initiate
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎18-06-2014

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by Ninja Initiate Ninja Initiate Ninja Initiate
Message 2 of 11 (2,448 Views)
Hi Kyle,

Welcome to the community Smiley Happy

I may need to investigate this further.

Can you please PM your mobile number, I will also need an alternative contact number in case I need to contact you.

(please do not post personal information on public forums)

Thanks and regards.
(please refrain from posting personal information on public forums)


I volunteer my time here on the community helping out, Not an official member of the social media team.

I currently work with the mobile, cable tv and fibre teams
Starter Poster
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-07-2014

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by KyleTong Starter Poster
Message 3 of 11 (2,442 Views)

Hi Minhaj,

 

I just sent you my details as requested.

 

Thanks for your help!

 

Regards,

Kyle

Ninja Initiate
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎18-06-2014

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by Ninja Initiate Ninja Initiate Ninja Initiate
Message 4 of 11 (3,369 Views)
Hi Kyle,

You're welcome Smiley Happy

Looking into it as we speak. will contact you shortly.

cheers.
(please refrain from posting personal information on public forums)


I volunteer my time here on the community helping out, Not an official member of the social media team.

I currently work with the mobile, cable tv and fibre teams
Solution
Accepted by Lon (Staff)
‎03-10-2015 04:33 AM
Starter Poster
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-08-2014

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by lunarosa0611 Starter Poster
Message 5 of 11 (2,148 Views)

Hi I am in South korea as well and I am having the same problem as you had.. i can't do roaming. I am using galaxy note 3.

 

Did you solve the problem?

 

I really need to do roaming.

 

Pls help!!

 

 

Many thanks

 

Rose

Starter Poster
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-09-2014

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by snoopyd2424 Starter Poster
Message 6 of 11 (2,070 Views)
I saw on this post it was solved, but my other post says it is still waiting, When will this be fixed ? ...do i need to go back to the airport and rent a phone... I am here until 21 sept and can only use wifi at cafes... But can not get my texts...
Posted from Motorola MB865
Starter Poster
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2015

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by soholovesyou Starter Poster
Message 7 of 11 (1,174 Views)

Hello I am in serious urgent need of help with the roaming of my phone.

I recently moved to South Korea and am on Supa prepay with a galaxy S4. I visited a vodafone store in NZ before I left to specifically ask if my phone would roam automatically and was told that it would however it isn't. It says that its roaming but it isn't connecting to 3G it isnt "roaming" basically. I am so sooo worried HELLLP~!

Ninja Master
Posts: 20,516
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by Ninja Master Ninja Master Ninja Master
Message 8 of 11 (1,170 Views)

@soholovesyou When you action a manual network selection to a carrier what happens?

Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17 years 4 days
Starter Poster
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2015

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by soholovesyou Starter Poster
Message 9 of 11 (1,160 Views)

@johnr Sorry John could you please elaborate? Sorry I have no idea what that is haha Any steps or instructions on how to do that would be much appreciated Smiley Happy

Ninja Master
Posts: 20,516
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Roaming in South Korea

by Ninja Master Ninja Master Ninja Master
Message 10 of 11 (1,152 Views)

@soholovesyou Manual network selction is used to select mobile networks when roaming,

 

Google ' How to action a manual network selection on Samsung S4 '

Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17 years 4 days
Stats
  • 10 Replies
  • 2y ago
  • 2,455 Views
  • 5 Kudos
  • 6 Contributors
Kudos 101- Don't be shy, hand it out today