Reply

SIM card saying no service

New Poster
laishaharris
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

SIM card saying no service

[ Edited ]
by laishaharris New Poster
Message 1 of 9 (3,974 Views)
I moved to Australia about two years ago and I had bought my New Zealand Samsung phone and also my New Zealand Vodafone SIM card with me to australia abd i have had both for over two years here with no problems at all. Today I turned my phone off with the sim inside still and then turned it back on and then when I turned it on it said no service I tried calling it from my Australian number and it doesn't even ring it just has a beeping noise. I've tried turning flight mode on it didn't work and I tried turning it on an off and still didn't work. I know my sim hasn't been deactivated because It hasn't been 12 months since I last topped up it has only been 5 months please help I really need this SIM card. Any suggestions?
Posted From Apple iPod Touch
Expert Contributor
TonyZ
Posts: 2,571
Registered: ‎13-09-2008

Re: SIM card saying no service

by Expert Contributor Expert Contributor
Message 2 of 9 (3,967 Views)
Hi, have you tried manually selecting the network?
Posted From Acer A510
New Poster
laishaharris
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: SIM card saying no service

by laishaharris New Poster
Message 3 of 9 (3,964 Views)
How do you do that?
Posted From Apple iPod Touch
New Poster
laishaharris
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: SIM card saying no service

by laishaharris New Poster
Message 4 of 9 (3,958 Views)
Oh I see what you mean I went to settings and went to mobile networks but I can't access it as it is in dull writing and I can't click on it
Posted From Apple iPod Touch
Ninja Master
johnr
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: SIM card saying no service

by Ninja Master Ninja Master
Message 5 of 9 (3,953 Views)
When was the Vodafone NZ prepay account last topped up?

Prepay accounts expire 13 months from last topup and get deactivated
I volunteer my time here on the community helping out, Not an official member of the social media team

John Reader | Systems Engineer | Vodafone NZ | +6421323505
New Poster
laishaharris
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: SIM card saying no service

by laishaharris New Poster
Message 6 of 9 (3,950 Views)
It was last topped up 5 months ago (September)
Posted From Apple iPod Touch
Community Manager
Dylan
Posts: 1,221
Registered: ‎21-08-2010

Re: SIM card saying no service

by Community Manager Community Manager
Message 7 of 9 (3,948 Views)

Hi there

 

A couple of things come to mind..

 

1 - Maybe a problem with the sim or phone, so it could be worth trying the SIM in another phone?

 

2 - Seems strange there was a beeping sound when you called it. Could it be that the number you called it from didn't allow the call to go through? (Maybe a tollbar, or maybe the number was dialled incorrectly?)

 

Either way - if you send me your phone number and pin I'll ask for it to be checked out for you tomorrow. Our email address is onlinecare@vodafone.com.

 

If you want to talk to someone about it you can call our "777" team from overseas by dialing +64 9 355 2007 (remember that'll be a toll call).

 

Cheers

 

Dylan

Ninja Master
johnr
Posts: 19,284
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: SIM card saying no service

by Ninja Master Ninja Master
Message 8 of 9 (3,945 Views)

Send me PM with the SIM card number / Mobile number, Yes I am at work right now looking at something else,

 

I can take a look

I volunteer my time here on the community helping out, Not an official member of the social media team

John Reader | Systems Engineer | Vodafone NZ | +6421323505
New Poster
laishaharris
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: SIM card saying no service

by laishaharris New Poster
Message 9 of 9 (3,942 Views)
yeah I've tried it in another phone but it still says no service, yeah I've called from different phones as well it still makes that noise and thank you so much il do that now
Posted From Apple iPod Touch
Stats
  • 8 Replies
  • 1y ago
  • 3,975 Views
  • 0 Kudos
  • 4 Contributors
<%@page import="java.util.*" %>