Reply

IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

Staff
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 31 of 46 (573 Views)

A bunch more areas were enabled for IPv6 early this morning, not too much more to go now.

Starter Poster
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎20-05-2017

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by NatWork Starter Poster
Message 32 of 46 (504 Views)

Hi,

Are there any plans to issue IPV6 /64 subnets instead of a single IPv6 address?

 

Given the accepted practice for IPv6 is not to NAT, and all devices behind the modem (computers/laptops/TVs/Phones//Tablets/bluRay player etc.) should have their own public IPV6 address in the issued subnet, it seems ridiculous to be only issuing a single IPv6 Address (ie one with a /128 subnet).

 

(The whole point of IPV6 was to stop being "stingy" with ip addresses!)

 

cheers.

Staff
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 33 of 46 (473 Views)

Hi @NatWork,

We dish out a /56, if you're not seeing that then something strange is going on with your connection. In the HG659 under "Internet" you should see something like this:ipv6slash56.png

 

I think it'll depend on your device what size subnet you receive, but here's an example from Ubuntu 17.04 - the PC has been issued a public /64 from the router as well as configuring a link local address (fe80::/10) and couple of ULA addresses (fd00::/8).

eno1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.5  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.0.255
        inet6 2407:7000...  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fd..........  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fe80........  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        inet6 fd..........  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>

 

Give your gateway a reboot, and then let us know exactly what you're seeing.

cheers,

chris

Starter Poster
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎20-05-2017

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by NatWork Starter Poster
Message 34 of 46 (454 Views)
Will check. There must have Ben some confusion when I spoke to the call centre
Posted from Apple iPhone
Highlighted
Expert Contributor
Posts: 576
Registered: ‎21-05-2015

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by Expert Contributor Expert Contributor
Message 35 of 46 (372 Views)

So I just noticed I only had IPV4 so I reset my router now I have IPV6 back again.. Any reason why that happend?

Expert Contributor
Posts: 576
Registered: ‎21-05-2015

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by Expert Contributor Expert Contributor
Message 36 of 46 (358 Views)

Bump 

Staff
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 37 of 46 (356 Views)

Shouldn't happen, don't know why it did. Seen something similar a handful of other times, but never been able to reproduce it and figure out why.

Starter Poster
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎14-03-2014

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by Droner Starter Poster
Message 38 of 46 (292 Views)

Hi Chris,

 

I'm on FibreX Max and located in Highbury, Wellington. Can I get an Ipv6 address? I talked to the Help Desk and they told me Ipv6 hasn't been rolled out at all? What I've been reading online certainly indicates otherwise.

 

Thanks,

Posted from Android 2.0 Tablet
Staff
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 39 of 46 (290 Views)

@Droner PM me your account details and I'll check, maybe something got missed out.

Staff
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: IPv6 and Vodafone broadband

by Staff ChrisVF Staff
Message 40 of 46 (287 Views)

@Droner thanks for the details. I can see the connection you're on is enabled, but it looks like you're not running the provided router. My guess is that whatever you're using isn't configured to ask for an IPv6 address.

Stats
  • 45 Replies
  • 51w ago
  • 2,745 Views
  • 13 Kudos
  • 7 Contributors
Kudos 101- Don't be shy, hand it out today