Reply

Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

Highlighted
Starter Poster
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-03-2014
Accepted Solution

Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

by crypt Starter Poster
Message 1 of 9 (1,919 Views)

Hi there,

 

So ive been having this problem for around a month and a half and it seems to have happened ever since we have moved flats. Ive called the vodafone support line and we've looked into it quite extensivley with a 24 hour monitor on the line which recorded only 1 disconnetion which was due to me turning the modem off and back on. I recently just replaced our modem with a new one and this seemed to have solved the problem for a short time but as of today the issue is back. When the internet drops the most common issue reported is "phone line not plugged in" I have tried 4 other phone jacks in the house but the problem does not change or is worsened. Im pretty sure it isnt an issue with the line itself that is connected to the modem as after I purchased a new one the problem was fixed for a week or two. Ive asked the landlord if there is a master splitter installed though they are unsure, could that possibly be the issue if there was one installed? The only other thing i could think of is the wiring in the house itself not being very good.

 

Any input or help would be greatly appreciated Smiley Very Happy


Accepted Solutions
Staff Lon
Staff
Posts: 1,305
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

by Staff Lon Staff
Message 7 of 9 (2,421 Views)

crypt wrote:

I will invest in a master filter hopefully that should help

Thanks a lot.



Fraser might be able to recommend a Welly local for you? Alternatively, we could actually get Chorus to do it for you. I'm not 100% on the charge from them, I believe it might be in the region of around $150 depending on the wiring needed to get the job done. Smiley Happy

Please note that I am no longer a permanent moderator of this forum and only check messages during my free time.

View solution in original post

Solution
Accepted by Lon (Staff)
‎03-10-2015 04:33 AM

All Replies
Retired Staff
Posts: 20,537
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

[ Edited ]
by Retired Staff johnr Retired Staff
Message 2 of 9 (1,914 Views)

Get a master filter installed and remove the line filters, Blog below explains why

 

http://www.geekzone.co.nz/sbiddle/8357

 

John

 

 

Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17 years 4 days
Senior Contributor
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎24-08-2008

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

by Senior Contributor coffeebaron Senior Contributor
Message 3 of 9 (1,905 Views)
Home wiring is no1 cause of these types of issues. If you are Auckland or Waikato, this is something I can do, so flick me a message or email coffeebaron at geekzonemail dot com if you would like my help.

Cheers
Fraser
Posted from Apple iPad
Retired Staff
Posts: 20,537
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

by Retired Staff johnr Retired Staff
Message 4 of 9 (1,903 Views)

Get the master filter master @coffeebaron  onto it,

Ex VodafoneNZ staff member 17 years 4 days
Starter Poster
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-03-2014

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

by crypt Starter Poster
Message 5 of 9 (1,900 Views)

Thanks for that Fraser but i live in wellington sadly

Starter Poster
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-03-2014

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

by crypt Starter Poster
Message 6 of 9 (1,899 Views)

I will invest in a master filter hopefully that should help

Thanks a lot.

Staff Lon
Staff
Posts: 1,305
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

by Staff Lon Staff
Message 7 of 9 (2,422 Views)

crypt wrote:

I will invest in a master filter hopefully that should help

Thanks a lot.



Fraser might be able to recommend a Welly local for you? Alternatively, we could actually get Chorus to do it for you. I'm not 100% on the charge from them, I believe it might be in the region of around $150 depending on the wiring needed to get the job done. Smiley Happy

Please note that I am no longer a permanent moderator of this forum and only check messages during my free time.
Solution
Accepted by Lon (Staff)
‎03-10-2015 04:33 AM
Starter Poster
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-03-2014

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

[ Edited ]
by crypt Starter Poster
Message 8 of 9 (1,888 Views)

Ok fantastic, im just waiting to hear back from the landlord to see what they say but i will email Fraser and see if he knows anyone. Thanks heaps everyone, greatley appreciated.

 

Hopefully I can get this sorted soon Smiley Happy

Senior Contributor
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎24-08-2008

Re: Constant disconnect - "phone line not plugged in"

by Senior Contributor coffeebaron Senior Contributor
Message 9 of 9 (1,879 Views)
I think Chorus price is still approx $200, not 100% sure though.
Posted from Apple iPad
Stats
  • 8 Replies
  • 3y ago
  • 1,920 Views
  • 5 Kudos
  • 4 Contributors
Kudos 101- Don't be shy, hand it out today