Reply

Changing from ADSL to VDSL

Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by Contributor aweb4u Contributor
Message 1 of 10 (463 Views)

A couple of weeks ago I received a letter from Vodafone telling me that they were going to upgrade me from ADSL to VDSL and that they would be sending me a new modem/router. The letter said I was to plug this in by Wednesday 6th December and I would be automatically switched over to VDSL.

 

The Vodafone Ultra Hub arived on the 5th and I had it up and running that night. Since then I've been keeping an eye on things but I don't think I've been upgraded to VDSL yet. My reason for thinking that I haven't been upgraded yet is because if I open the Ultra Hub and go to "Status & Support" > "xDSL Status" it says "xDSL Mode: ITU-T G.992.5_Annex_A (ADSL_2plus over POTS)".

 

I assumed that Vodafone would contact me and tell me that I've been switched over but I haven't received any notification yet.

 

How long should I have to wait for Vodafone to switch me to VDSL?

Community Manager
Posts: 2,250
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by Community Manager Community Manager
Message 2 of 10 (449 Views)

@aweb4u

You're quite right, it should read ITU-T G.993.2_Annex_B (VDSL2). Message me your account number and I'll check in on progress.

m

Channel Manager, Help & Support
Vodafone New Zealand
Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by Contributor aweb4u Contributor
Message 3 of 10 (446 Views)

Thanks Mike, I've sent you a private message.

Contributor
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-07-2014

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by Contributor Valleyman Contributor
Message 4 of 10 (343 Views)

Mike

Are you sure it should be annex B?

As my VDSL2 runs on annex A, if I select annex B it wont connect

Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by Contributor aweb4u Contributor
Message 5 of 10 (160 Views)

Are you still around @MikeHales? I messaged you but never got a reply, maybe you're on holiday?

 

I see there's several others on this forum that are also wondering about their ADSL -> VDSL upgrades.

Community Manager
Posts: 2,250
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by Community Manager Community Manager
Message 6 of 10 (158 Views)

@aweb4u

Apologies, on leave at the moment but back to full speed on Monday, will reach out to those already back.

Cheers

Channel Manager, Help & Support
Vodafone New Zealand
Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by Contributor aweb4u Contributor
Message 7 of 10 (155 Views)

No worries @MikeHales, everyone deserves a holiday without being hassled about work! Smiley Happy

 

I was just following up in case it had fallen through the cracks due to Christmas and all that.

New Poster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎18-12-2017

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by wyseyes New Poster
Message 8 of 10 (363 Views)

I'm in the same boat, but I was sent the UltraHub in October.  I had it installed the day I got it (maybe Oct 16), with the note saying "install by Oct 23 and we'll change over to VDSL".

 

Nothing.

 

Multiple calls to the good ole call centre, requesting updates.  Same old reassurance, same old "I'll send an emailt to the provisioning team", same old blaming of Chorus. 

 

Result? Nothing.

 

Two months of Nothing.

 

Currently sitting at 21.3/1.2 MBits.  ADSL_2plus over POTS.

Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by Contributor aweb4u Contributor
Message 9 of 10 (361 Views)

Wow, you've been waiting a lot longer than me!

 

I PMed Mike but haven't head back from him yet.

Starter Poster
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-07-2017

Re: Changing from ADSL to VDSL

by JudithBell Starter Poster
Message 10 of 10 (114 Views)

I finally took the plunge and rang Vodafone.They told me to reset my ultrahub which I did and for the first few minutes it seemed better but that didn't last and am still having issues It is total crap.Vodafone were supposed to Email me when it was upgraded but didn't!! I am ready to reinstall my own Wifi modem and go with ADSL where I had no problems!

Stats
  • 9 Replies
  • 5w ago
  • 464 Views
  • 0 Kudos
  • 5 Contributors