Reply

Overseas phone on Vodafone network

Starter Poster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2017

Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by ElBaboso Starter Poster
Message 1 of 14 (270 Views)

Hi everyone,

 

My cousin is coming here from overseas and wants to know if his phone will work here. It is unlocked but the frequencies might be different?

I'm not sure about 2g but the 3g bands supported are B34 2100 and B39 1900. The 4g bands are B1 2100, B7 2600. B3 1800 and B38 2600. 

 

Now I'm not certain but from what I can gather it looks like it will work?  Possibly it wont work in rural or marine areas?

If someone could confirm this that would be great.

 

Thanks

Senior Contributor
Posts: 384
Registered: ‎24-08-2008

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by Senior Contributor coffeebaron Senior Contributor
Message 2 of 14 (244 Views)
You need 3G 900 band
Posted from Samsung SM-G950F
Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,007
Registered: ‎20-08-2008

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by Ninja Adept Ninja Adept Ninja Adept
Message 3 of 14 (226 Views)

We have 3G on 2100 in cities and large towns too

Starter Poster
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by Kl3m Starter Poster
Message 4 of 14 (203 Views)

Hi, 

 

I'm French, and in christchurch since July 16th. 

My Asus Zenfone 2 Z551ML connected perfectly to the LTE network (Vodafone NZ) until last week. 

When I do *#*#4636#*#* it tells me that I'm connected to Vodafone NZ, but I'm stuck in Roaming mode. 

I cannot change, and it's not my phone, because the 2degrees SIM I have in the Second slot, when swapped, can connect to the 2degrees 4G network. 

 

Since my Phone subscription in France allows me to get 25GB of Data per month, I decided to keep it. 

There no limiation of duration in the contract, so I suppose it comes either from my SIM card (which I doubt) or from the vodafone network. 

 

My IMEI number is : 35 29 100 72 49 73 93

 

Thanks for any kind of Help.

 

Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,509
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 5 of 14 (198 Views)
@Kl3m I am lost, your post is very confusing.

What is the actual issue ? What can you do / not do? Data / Voice / SMS?

Are you a VodafoneNZ customer using a VodafoneNZ SIM card or are you using your overseas carriers SIM card , roaming into VodafoneNZ?
NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Posted from Apple iPhone
Starter Poster
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by Kl3m Starter Poster
Message 6 of 14 (193 Views)

Hi, euh, ok...

 

The issue : 

I cannot connect to Data on the vodafone nz network.

 

My situation : 

I'm French. I have a french subscription that allows me to call for free french numbers ans nz numbers from my french number here. I also have 25GB of data included in that subscription. 

 

Since 1 week, my phone can connect to the vodafone network, but stays in roaming. 

I'd like to know why.

 

Is that clearer ?

 

Thanks

Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,509
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 7 of 14 (184 Views)

Much clearer.


As you are not a VodafoneNZ customer, we can't help with this at all (we are just the network you are roaming onto, your relationship is with your French carrier, not us). All support needs to come from your french provider. Call them and get a fault logged.

NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Starter Poster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2017

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by ElBaboso Starter Poster
Message 8 of 14 (154 Views)

Update: I had a good look at the phones frequencies and it's been added to willmyphonework.net and it looks like it will work.  Will confirm in a couple of weeks. 

Posted from Samsung SM-T520
Starter Poster
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by Kl3m Starter Poster
Message 9 of 14 (116 Views)

Thank you for your answer, but my french provider tells me it is on your side... I'm stuck here with no help at all, could you make an effort ?

 

Since I can connect to your network (because i can phone to france or to nz normally), could you explain in a more detailled manner what could cause this ?

 

Would it be possible (and I need you to tell me if so) that the specific contract with Free has changed in some ways ?

Since the 4G works with another sim, my phone is not in question, nor the frequencies. What would you normally recommend to a vodafone user ?

 

Thanks

Business Ninja Adept
Posts: 1,509
Registered: ‎30-09-2014

Re: Overseas phone on Vodafone network

by Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept Business Ninja Adept
Message 10 of 14 (110 Views)

Hi

 

I have seen the communications between Free and VodafoneNZ and this is being worked on to be resolved now. Hold on for a few days..

 

Thanks.

NOC Engineer | Vodafone NZ
Stats
  • 13 Replies
  • 2w ago
  • 271 Views
  • 1 Kudo
  • 5 Contributors
Kudos 101- Don't be shy, hand it out today